British Knockout: Top GMs & young masters battle it out for £42,000

Press Release BKO 1, 27 November 2019


The five members of the multiple medal-winning England Open team – Mickey Adams, David Howell, Luke McShane, Gawain Jones and Nicholas Pert – are the top seeds in this year’s British Knockout Championship, which runs from November 30 to December 8 at London Olympia, alongside the Grand Chess Tour Finals featuring World Champion Magnus Carlsen.



The five top seeds will be joined in an eight-player Knockout tournament by three qualifiers.


At stake will be a total prize fund of £42,000, with a £10,000 first prize, £7,500 to the runner-up, £5,000 each to the semi-finalists and £2,500 to the quarter-finalists.


The Semi-Finals (2nd-4th December) and the Final (6th-8th December) will each consist of 2 classical games, followed by a final day of Rapid & Blitz.


Play will start at 4:00pm on weekdays, and at 2:00pm on Saturday 7th & Sunday 8th December.





David Howell GM 2701


Mickey Adams GM 2692


Luke McShane GM 2675


Gawain Jones GM 2663


The British Knockout Semi-Finals and Final will be held in the same auditorium as the Grand Chess Tour Finals, and will follow the same format: 2 classical games, followed by 2 rapid and 4 blitz games, followed by 2 blitz playoff games and an Armageddon blitz game if required to decide the winner of each match.


Adding to the entertainment for chess fans will be an Exhibition Match between the two losing semi-finalists, running alongside the Final, where spectators will be invited to suggest the openings.





Nick Pert GM 2557


Brandon Clarke IM 2431


Marcus Harvey FM 2405


Andrew Horton IM 2378


Spectators welcome

Spectator tickets are on sale online at the London Chess Classic Box Office. Day Passes (valid on December 2, 3, 4, 6, 7 and 8) cost £25 each, while a Season Pass costs £80 – a total saving of £70.


Young players to the fore


Among the group of 15 players seeking to qualify for the Quarter-Finals are two members of the England Women’s team and a host of promising young titled players under the age of 25.


Participants include: GM Daniel Fernandez; WGM Katarzyna Toma; IMs Ravi Haria, Joseph McPhillips, Alan Merry, Brandon Clarke, Matthew Wadsworth, Andrew Horton and Adam C. Taylor. For the up-to-date list of participants, see the British Knockout Championship results, pairings and games page on the London Chess Classic website.


Both the Preliminary Round on 30th November (a 9-round Swiss Rapidplay, plus blitz and Armageddon playoff games if necessary) and the Quarter-Finals on 1st December (two Classical games, plus rapid, blitz and Armageddon playoff games if required) start at 11:00am.



For more information about the full range of events at the LCC, contact our team at: [email protected]

Visit our website:

Follow us on Twitter: @london_chess


Tim Wall, @London_Chess, press officer, London Chess Classic



© SC


Copyright © 2019 LCC