Olympia Conference Centre, Kensington, London


British Knockout Championship

David Howell has won the inaugural British Knockout Championship beating Nick Pert in a tense final game at the Olympia Conference Centre. The match, over six standard play games, ran from 4-9 December.



The six games were held in the East Hall alongside rounds of the FIDE Open starting at 1630 each day.


The time limit for the final was 40 moves in 90 minutes plus all remaining moves in 30 minutes with a 30 second increment throughout.


Final score: Pert 2-4 Howell.


David wins 20,000 and Nick 10,000 from an eye watering prize fund of 50,000.


All participants in the KO Championships will play in the Super Rapid Open on December 12th and 13th.


Results | Qtr Finals report | Semi Finals report | Games in PGN & Replay | Tournament Regulations |






6. David Howell 1-0 Nicholas Pert

5. Nicholas Pert - David Howell

4. David Howell - Nicholas Pert

3. Nicholas Pert - David Howell

2. David Howell 1-0 Nicholas Pert

1. Nicholas Pert - David Howell


The six games were played daily from Friday 4th December until Wednesday 9th December, with play starting at 1630 each day. All six games were played, and FIDE rated, even if the match was already decided.



Day 2


Semi Finals Playoff

Luke McShane 0-1 Nicholas Pert

Nick Pert 1-0 Luke McShane


Pert advances to the final.


David Howell - Gawain Jones

Gawain Jones - David Howell A.



Gawain Jones 0-1 David Howell


Howell advances to the final.



Semi-Finals Game 1:

David Howell 1-0 Gawain Jones

Nick Pert - Luke McShane


Semi-Finals Game 2:

Gawain Jones 1-0 David Howell

Luke McShane - Nick Pert



Day 1


Quarter Finals Game 1:

David Howell 1-0 Yang-Fan Zhou

Daniel Fernandez 0-1 Luke McShane

Nick Pert - Jonathan Hawkins

Gawain Jones - Jonathan Rowson


Quarter Finals round 2:

Yang-Fan Zhou - David Howell

Luke McShane 1-0 Daniel Fernandez

Jonathan Hawkins - Nick Pert

Jonathan Rowson 0-1 Gawain Jones


Quarter Final Play-off:

Nicholas Pert and Jonathan Hawkins 2030-2230.


Game 1: Nick Pert 0-1 Jonathan Hawkins

Game 2: Jonathan Hawkins 0-1 Nick Pert


Jonathan Hawkins won the toss for the Armageddon game and opted to play White



Jonathan Hawkins 0-1 Nick Pert





2015 London Chess Classic

 back to top ^^